Search our Site

Much of the AGM preparations are managed by the RTAM Office Staff, in close communication with the Committee and the President.

This year, RTAM is most fortunate for and appreciative of the support of a dedicated and enthusiastic group of WREA volunteers for their assistance with the planning and facilitation of components of AGM 2019. 

Committee Chair & Member/s



Linda Scott

AGM Chair
  • Joan Dawson (Thompson)
  • Allen Havard (Winnipeg)
  • Esmeralda Havard (Winnipeg)
  • Arlene Billeck (Winnipeg)
  • Pat Olpalko (Winnipeg)
  • Emily Williamson (Winnipeg)
  • Laurel McFarlane (Winnipeg)
  • Lynda Tunny (Winnipeg)
October 2021 AGM Highlights

The 2022 AGM Committee held a ZOOM meeting on October 12.

The Retired Women Teachers Association have volunteered to host the AGM with the assistance and cooperation of our very capable office staff. 

The following points were discussed at the meeting:

  1. The committee is preparing for both an in-person AGM at the Holiday Inn Airport and a ZOOM AGM.
  2. Renee McGurry, a retired Indigenous, has been approached to begin the AGM with a blessing.
  3. John Sushelnitsky will play his guitar and lead the singing of Oh Canada at the AGM.
  4. Diane Casar will take the minutes at the AGM.
  5. Gayl Punzalan will present a 30 minute presentation on a tour of the RTAM website.  This will be in place of the Presidents' meeting as the Presidents meet monthly with Bill Cann.
  6. Linda Scott and Joan Dawson will improve the evaluation form.  A prize draw will be held of all completed evaluation forms to encourage AGM participants to complete their evaluations.
  7. TRAF and Johnson will be approached to present at the AGM.
  8. The Minister of Education and the MTS president will be approached to bring greetings.
  9. The lunch break will not have a guest speaker to allow time for RTAM members to reconnect.
  10. There will be an evening reception with a presentation by Johnson Inc. and entertainment decided upon by RWTA.

Motion moved by Linda Scott:

That Dorothy Young be approved as the Independent Chair for the 2022 AGM.

Committee Report to the 2020 RTAM AGM

Respectfully submitted by Joan Dawson, Chair (Thompson)

Members: Bill Cann (director), Arlene Billeck (RWTA), Laurel McFarlane (RWTA), Pat Opalko (RWTA), Emily Williamson (RWTA), Lynda Tunny (RWTA) 

In keeping with past practise, The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of RTAM alternates between a Winnipeg location and a non-Winnipeg location. The 2020 AGM is being held in Winnipeg at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West. Due to the Covid 19 pandemic the AGM has been postponed until August 18 and 19 and will still be in the Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West. 

The Retired Women Teachers Association have volunteered to host this event with the assistance and cooperation of our very capable office staff. Together we have planned several interesting events including a tour of the RTAM website by Gayl Punzalan, our webmaster and KIT publisher, a celebration of Manitoba 150 and RTAM’s 31st year at the Tuesday evening reception and some very interesting guest speakers.  We are looking forward to the AGM and the hospitality of the RWTA in August and thank them for their hard work and the great ideas they have shared.

The Election process for AGM 2020 is under the oversight of Committee members Joan Dawson and Bill Cann. The Election Scrutineers will be RWTA members Emily Williamson, Laurel McFarlane and Arlene Billeck. 

As is past practise the next AGM will be in a non-Winnipeg location. RTAM is still looking for a Chapter to host the 2022 AGM.